The Domain Parklands is a patchwork of beautiful parks and gardens, made up of nearly 123 hectares. It includes some of the city’s favourite destinations, including the Royal Botanic Gardens, Shrine of Remembrance, Sidney Myer Music Bowl, Government House, Alexandra Park, Alexandra Gardens, Queen Victoria Gardens and the Kings Domain.

The draft Domain Parklands Master Plan covers areas managed by five different land managers. It recognises the individual and unique destinations, while strengthening the area as one domain.

While the City of Melbourne does not manage all parts of the Domain Parklands, it looks after areas that surround and connect major destinations. The draft Master Plan focuses on the areas managed by the City Of Melbourne, and guides the management for the areas of common interest by all land managers.

As Melbourne grows, with more people living, visiting and working in our central city, green places – like the Domain Parklands – will become increasingly busy. The draft Master Plan also seeks to prepare the parklands to meet the needs of current and future generations, and respond to the challenges of climate change and population growth.

The draft Master Plan has been developed with extensive research and community input. It highlights five key values to guide the future management of the Domain Parklands over the next 20 years.

The values include:

  • A healthy and resilient parkland
  • A parkland of history and cultural heritage
  • A parkland for people
  • A parkland that connects
  • A parkland of partnerships

Fundamental to all the values is the principle that there be no net loss of parkland, and that future change should bring positive benefits to the Domain Parklands. These values will form the basis for decision-making over the life of the 20-year Master Plan.

Proposals in the draft Master Plan are described under five themes, each with a number of action areas:

  • Nurture a diverse landscape and parkland ecology
  • Acknowledge history and cultural heritage
  • Support exceptional visitor experience
  • Improve pedestrian movement and access
  • Management and partnerships to build resilience

It explains how we will help manage the parklands in times of change by building resilience. We recognise that with population growth and climate change, we need to adapt to change, but we also need to retain the qualities of places that are loved.

The Plan has been developed in close consultation with all land managers and stakeholders, and includes feedback from community engagement in 2015 and 2016.


The Domain Parklands is separated into five precincts. The plans explain a summary of proposed upgrades to the areas and the key precinct actions.

There are also whole-of-Parkland actions that are detailed in the draft Master Plan, which include:

  • Improving horticultural excellence
  • Integrated water management
  • Revealing Aboriginal cultural heritage
  • Managing and balancing use
  • Improving landscape health
  • Collaborative partnerships

Read more in the draft Domain Parklands Master Plan

Submit your feedback

Have your say on the draft Domain Parklands Masterplan. Community feedback closes 28 October 2018.

Key actions

1. To what extent do you think the key actions listed below help to achieve the themes of the Domain Parklands Master Plan?

Elevate horticultural complexity and management; support a healthy ecosystem; manage a city arboretum; and manage soil and water.

Respect and reveal the Aboriginal cultural heritage; reflect cultural values and historical significance; and manage memorials in the Domain Parklands (areas managed by City of Melbourne).

Provide facilities (amenities) to meet future needs; enhance visitor experience; manage organised activity spaces; and manage events.

Improve parklands entrances; improve internal pathway networks; reduce barriers and improve access over roads; support access by public transport; network approaches to improve cycling routes; contemporary wayfinding in the Domain Parklands; create journeys in the Domain Parklands; rethink the use of existing road space; and support visitor access while adapting to the future trends of car parking.

Make one parkland of many unique destinations; create a framework for priorities and decision-making; commitment to future management and collaboration; manage uses in the areas managed by the City of Melbourne; and reduce the impact of services.

Further comment

The survey form is now closed. Thanks for your contributions.